Raga Kedar or Raag Kedara: Learn its History, Origin and Facts with Download Pdf

Raga Kedar is a popular and prominent raga in the Hindustani classical music tradition of North India. It is often associated with a devotional and meditative mood and is traditionally performed during the late evening or early night.

Key characteristics of Raga Kedar include:

Time of Performance: Kedar is typically performed during the third part of the night, approximately from 9 p.m. to midnight.

Scale and Structure: The scale of Raga Kedar includes all seven swaras (notes) in both ascent (Arohana) and descent (Avarohana). The swaras used are: Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, and Ni. The specific pattern of ascent and descent, as well as certain characteristic phrases, contribute to the identity of Raga Kedar.

Mood and Emotion: Kedar is known for its serene, contemplative, and devotional mood. It is often used for expressing deep emotions and evoking a sense of spirituality.

Variants: There are different variants of Raga Kedar, including Kedar, Kedar Kanada, and Shuddha Kedar. Each variant may have variations in the use of certain notes or phrases.

Association with Season: Kedar is sometimes associated with the monsoon season and is considered suitable for expressing the emotions associated with the rainy season.

Raag Kedar / Raga Kedara

Time of Singing: First Prahar of The Night


sa ma pa, ma pa dha ni dha pa ma pa sa


sa ni dha pa, ma pa ma sa re sa

Lakshan Geet 1:

Kedar Ras Shant Gaat Guni, - 2

Dou Nishad Sur Tivar Madhyam - 2

Karat Varaj Gandhar Chadhat Ri - 2 (Back to first line)

Vaadi Rahat Nit Mahdyam Suswar - 2

Samvadi Puni Shadaj Manyavar - 2

Pratham Prahar Nis Gaat Chatur Jana - 2 (Back to first line)

Lakshan Geet 2:

Bol Bol Mose Nand Kunvarava, - 2

Rasbhari Batiyan Laag Madhur Tori - 2 (Back to first line)

Subhag Hath Tore Bansi Shaamasi - 2

Brijavasi Nirakhat Nayan Bahri - 2

Ati Aghat Jas Bhookh Bhikhari - 2 (Back to first line)